:: American Angst ::

  1. Home

  2. Archives

  3. About

  4. Contact

  5. DiaryLand


Click here to join angst_update

Join the Angst Update List and get email when I update my site



Praise? Suggestions? Vitriol? Email Me!

moi






Puttin' the FUN in dys-FUN-ctional!!

It's the holidays! Time for Ding Fries Are Done!

Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004
Meeting Hell...

I am soooo not a meeting girl. I need to be doing 18 things at once. Having to sit still in a meeting and pay attention to a 2 hour presentation is torture for me. I am currently sitting in one right now and simply HAD to open up my coding program and write to you all. JUST TO STAY AWAKE. It's not that the people speaking are boring...it's just my brain and the way it works. In essence: If you force me to sit still and focus, I WILL fall asleep or, if you can manage to ply me with enough caffeine, I will look you directly in the eye while you are speaking, and won't hear a WORD you have said. Nope. I will be counting your nose hairs; I will be silently critiquing your outfit; I will be making a mental grocery list but not just that...I figure out what I need, then I take the first letter of each item and create words out of those letters so that I will remember what I needed. No seriously. I do. Then I get to the store and walk around repeating the word(s) and going "What the hell is the P?? What WAS that??"

Please. I beg of you. If you have a technical person working for you...do them an awesome favor and eliminate them from the meetings. Send them a note afterward with a list of the items you want them to do as a result of the meeting, and they will LOVE you.

Also, let them work from home several days a week.

*********************************

Speaking of meetings...are you an Over-Talker?? An Over-Talker is someone who cannot shut the f*** up while the presenter is speaking. They simply must display how utterly important they are by carrying on side conversations with other attendees, totally talking over the speaker. Dude? SO FUCKING RUDE! Knock that shit off. It makes people hate you and spit in your coffee when you aren't looking.

*********************************

Okay. I have to go. I'm getting tsk-tsk looks for not paying attention. Course...that was after I was writing to you instead of paying attention, and apparently they started discussing something that pertained to MY area of work and I was asked for my opinion and had none, because I was typing about over-talkers. Right. I = smart not.

*********************************

Someone Arrived Here Searching For: what mean bakery clerk [THAT mean bakery clerk. Don't you listen to me???]

*********************************



Write me a Note here.

Read my notes here.

Read a Random Entry


Previous | Next

Last 5 Entries:

How Much Are YOU Worth? - Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006

Perfume and Lazy Bastards.... - Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006

Like Poop Through a Goose.... - Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005

Bling and Bullets.... - Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005

Get Into The Frickin Spirit.... - Friday, Dec. 23, 2005


Much love to: BlogSkins, Rick (the design), and (of course) Powered by Diaryland(TM)