:: American Angst ::

  1. Home

  2. Archives

  3. About

  4. Contact

  5. DiaryLand


Click here to join angst_update

Join the Angst Update List and get email when I update my site



Praise? Suggestions? Vitriol? Email Me!

moi






Puttin' the FUN in dys-FUN-ctional!!

It's the holidays! Time for Ding Fries Are Done!

Monday, Nov. 01, 2004
You Bette She Has Class....

First, thanks to everyone that made my *choke, sob* 35th birthday such a blast! And thanks especially to George for the gorgeous right-hand ring. ::big sparkly grin to match my bejeweled finger!::

*********************************

I gotta tell ya, peeps, I was surprised to learn that Bette Midler gives one helluva performance. It was my first time seeing one of her concerts; my sister, my aunt, my cousin, and I took my mother to see Bette as a birthday present, and we had the time of our lives! We laughed our butts off, we sang, we got choked up (can we just discuss how powerful it is to hear several thousand people singing The Rose a cappella?) and laughed till we cried at dinner and in the car. It was awesome. Thanks, ladies, for such a great Girls Night Out! And thanks, mom, for the unity pins! Such a neat idear, lady!

If you get the chance, go see the Divine Miss M. It's not all Wind-Beneath-My-Wings sappiness, either. It's the Kiss-My-Brass tour, filled with...duh...brass (both musical and metaphorical) with a terrific 1940s feel to it. Very cool show.

*********************************

Went to the wedding of an old family friend's son this weekend and I am so glad we were a part of it. It was beautiful. The couple were obviously deeply in love, the father of the bride (and the bride) cried during the father-daughter dance which, of course, got the rest of us bawling. It was especially nice to see how sweet the families were together, and to see the bride take the time to go to each table and greet and thank each guest. So gracious. I especially enjoyed seeing her hop out onto the dance floor and perform a disco number for us, just a really cool, self-confident chick.

Best wishes, you two!

*********************************

This morning on the way in to work, George brightened my day. We were waiting for the light to turn green and saw a man walking along the sidewalk, and both of us burst out laughing at the same time. I swear, I have GOT to get a camera surgically implanted into my forehead so you can see the things I see. Anyway, the guy. He was about 6'3, African-American, had an Afro like you wouldn't believe, was wearing a polyester leisure suit, pleather disco boots, and he was walking like John Travolta in the opening sequence of Saturday Night Fever. Keep in mind that it is not Halloween today. Nope. So I am falling OUT laughing at the sight, as is George, who takes it one step further and says: "Dude. The '70s called. They want their strut back!"

Heh. He funny.

*********************************

A bit of seriousness here. Please go out tomorrow and vote. Don't fall into the trap of thinking that your vote doesn't matter, or won't count, or blah-blah-blah-get-off-yer-ass-n-just-do-it-cakes. Vote. It's a privilege and it's important. Do it.

Or you'll be disinvited to my birffday party.

*********************************

Someone Arrived Here Searching For: i think i'm dumb [First step = admitting it, hon. Good for you!]

*********************************



Write me a Note here.

Read my notes here.

Read a Random Entry


Previous | Next

Last 5 Entries:

How Much Are YOU Worth? - Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006

Perfume and Lazy Bastards.... - Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006

Like Poop Through a Goose.... - Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005

Bling and Bullets.... - Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005

Get Into The Frickin Spirit.... - Friday, Dec. 23, 2005


Much love to: BlogSkins, Rick (the design), and (of course) Powered by Diaryland(TM)