:: American Angst ::

  1. Home

  2. Archives

  3. About

  4. Contact

  5. DiaryLand


Click here to join angst_update

Join the Angst Update List and get email when I update my site



Praise? Suggestions? Vitriol? Email Me!

moi






Puttin' the FUN in dys-FUN-ctional!!

It's the holidays! Time for Ding Fries Are Done!

Monday, Oct. 18, 2004
I Am Entitled to Screwing Up

Remember this entry where I complained about people misusing the word 'entitled'? Yeah. Well..apparently *I* am one of those people. Here's what I received from Daniel. I'm taking his word for it:

See? I can admit when I'm wrong. Doesn't bother me at ALL damn it.

P.S., You apparently have to have a subscription to the OED to view Daniel's link. I do not have a subscription (as is evident by my misuse, heh.) so I have no idea what it says. Will someone with a subscription please send it to me so I can learn from my mistake? Thankya, thankya.

*********************************

Another walk down memory lane: This entry. The one where I was annoyed at Snotty Dog Walker? Yeah. Well this morning I was looking out the bedroom window and saw her walking her dog again. Letting it poop on other people's yards...again. Only this time she was in her pajamas. Barefoot. And carrying a dog poop baggie. Which THRILLED me. Until I noticed that she was only holding it, not actually using it. The dog took a crap on nearly every lawn within eye-shot. Yet she never so much as bent over to inspect or sniff it, let alone pick it up.

Poop. I just can't seem to get away from it, can I?

*********************************

Have you noticed the behavior of the people that call in to radio advice shows? The host, Bill Handel for today's example, will take a call. The person will begin telling their (veeeery long) story. The host will see where it's going and will answer the question, many times before it's been asked. The callers hate this. HATE it. Because they didn't just spend 45 minutes on hold figuring out what they'd say so they didn't sound like a stuttering idiot on the air, no no. They spent daaaaays doing it. Days. And when the host sees right to the end and responds before they're done telling their life stories? Ooooh, they don't know what to do with themselves. So they do the only thing they can...they continue telling the rest of the story...even though it's completely irrelevant and won't at ALL change the answer they've already been given, but because they've rehearsed and re-rehearsed their speech and they. must. finish. it.

Have ya noticed?

*********************************

So I've mentioned that we have squirrels squatting in our chimney and in various walls, right? Yes, yes I have. The dogs are still, several years later, barking like maniacs at them and go nuts when they hear them running along the roof. Drives us bonkers, too. But I noticed something odd this weekend while listening to the little bastards run up and down the length of the roof...

Why, when we hear a noise on the roof, such as bastard squirrels scampering across the roof, do we look up at the sound? Do we really expect to see something inside the house? Like what, exactly? Super-squirrels running upside down along the ceiling? WHY do we do this? It's nearly as bad as needing to turn down the radio when you're lost.

*********************************

Best show in the world? Dead Like Me. If you don't go RIGHT NOW and rent it or buy it, you'll die. Yep. Ya will.

*********************************

Someone Arrived Here Searching For: orange gatorade colonic [my eyes! MY EYES!!!]

*********************************



Write me a Note here.

Read my notes here.

Read a Random Entry


Previous | Next

Last 5 Entries:

How Much Are YOU Worth? - Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006

Perfume and Lazy Bastards.... - Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006

Like Poop Through a Goose.... - Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005

Bling and Bullets.... - Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005

Get Into The Frickin Spirit.... - Friday, Dec. 23, 2005


Much love to: BlogSkins, Rick (the design), and (of course) Powered by Diaryland(TM)